Altrion Unsolicited Commercial E-mail
Policy
Altrion.org will not deal with companies or individuals who engage
in unsolicited email advertising.
Organisations considering this who have an in any way professional
approach to business may want to bear in mind that I do volunteer
work for the Net's biggest single-sport website, as well as full time
system administration work for a small but influential international
software development company, and I will have no qualms in making
sure recommendations not to use your services get broadcast far and
wide.
Those of you who are moneygrabbing or clueless idiots with no
grasp of basic net ettiquette or busines sense may as well resign
yourselves to the fact that complaints will be made to your
postmaster and/or downstream service provider, and you'll need to
find a new account at the least.
Hall Of Shame
The following sites have attempted to engage my enthusiasm for
their products with fake sincerity, blatant lies and other obnoxious
marketing tactics. I guess, like many other web pages containing
email addresses, this one may get trawled by spammers for their
lists. Too bad. Avoid these sites like the plague.
- Launcher.com, one "John",
clearly having trawled the InterNIC for site names (I don't use the name given
under WHOIS for business/advertising anywhere else). No thanks, John - that
may actually be a really useful service, but you blew it.
- Watchwise, one "David".
A beaituiful little work of art this - claims to have "visited your Web site,
and ... was impressed by your interesting and useful site. As you asked for
comments and suggestions...". Pardon me while I laugh, since it's abundantly
clear he has something to sell and hasn't read one word off this site. My
satisfyingly cutting reply seems to have bounced (what a crying shame) with
an equally satisfying
551 <watch.wise@usa.net>... User account
cancelled by USA.NET, so I guess his provider took as much exceptiuon
to his sleaze as me.
- www.greatdeals.net - some
chap by the name of Steve thinks he's
on first name terms with me and wants to sell me Pentium 300's. Shame he hasn't
bothered to read enough of the site to figure out I'm not on the same continent
he is.
- www.contractprogramming.com
- trying to sell consultancy
services via UCE, with a bogus From: address. Tsk, tsk. You want to hire people
with THIS kind of respect for the net to do your website?
- Slimmer4Life: 'Dear friend'?????
Do I know you?
- John Logan - more fasle bonhomie
and first name terms. Another trawler of the Internic for 'likely customers'
for his list of "highly targeted prospects" for a web
log analysis tool..And guess what - he hasn't read a word of my site!
- Dundas Software, who had quite
an amusing little advert for their software (if you find M$ C++ funny), but
failed quite consipicuously to grasp that UCE is NOT welcome, no matter how
much they try and cover it with a veneer of responsibility: their response
was the analogue of 'yes, we steal stuff, but we don't break anything, and
if you ask us not to, we won't do it again'. They
even replied to my first email.
Back to the Altrion home page.